“Fireproof” Movie Review

I’m sure other bloggers will be writing about this but I was blown away by the power and professionalism of Sherwood Baptist Church’s second movie “Fireproof”.  The same group who produced “Facing the Giants” took the profits from the movie and produced “Fireproof”, a movie that takes a serious Christian view of marriage.

By now, most Christians have heard that Kirk Cameron plays the leading male role of Caleb Holt, a firefighter whose marriage is in deep trouble.  Without giving too much of the movie away, Caleb is challenged by his father who is relatively new believer in Christ, to take the Love Dare.  The Love Dare is a 40 day challenge to make small changes that make a big impact on your marriage.  Complicating matters is the fact that Caleb’s wife, Catherine, is being wooed by another man in the midst of her trial.

The movie features some amazing action shots, a realistic portrayal of the problems in marriage, a clear gospel presentation, and a great ending.  Not too many dry eyes left the theater where our church families went to view the film.  I commented to my wife how great it was to see couples holding hands and looking at each other like lovestruck teens as we left.

I believe the “Love Dare” book will be a good seller at the bookstores after seeing this.  Many couples my wife and I know are in crisis in their marriages.  My only regret was that we couldn’t get some lost couples to go with us to see this.  It was tremendous. 

Already, I’ve seen negative reviews from secular media who are passing off the first weekend’s success to churches proselytizing movie goers by giving them tickets.  No credit for the professional production of the film is given nor are they kind about the gospel presentation which they feel is too “preachy”.  I can tell you, I didn’t think it was preachy at all and given the point at the movie that it occurs, it was totally appropriate.

If this film is still playing in your area, go see it.  Better yet, find a couple to go with you and enjoy it with them.  Afterwards, grab some coffee and share thoughts.  This film has the ability to be a conversation starter for evangelism, and a perfect film to put in the hands of couples who need to reconsider their marriage vows and the power they hold.

“Fireproof” Movie Review

3 thoughts on ““Fireproof” Movie Review

  1. I am looking forward to seeing this movie over the coming weekend. I’m not married but I may be someday and I want to start off on the right foot when I do. Also, I have many married friends and I’d love to share this with them.

  2. Renee says:

    This is an awesome movie. It depicts so many issues marriages face today and shows them that they cannot be conquered alone. We need more movies like this.

  3. Heather says:

    This was actually their 3rd movie. The first is “Flywheel” about a used car salesman. Yet again, another great movie and very funny.

Leave a Reply

