How Much Bible Is Too Much?

The Bible - It's Electric!

I recently challenged myself to increase my intake of scripture. No, I’m not eating the pages of my bible, just making time to take in more of God’s Word.  As a pastor, there are so many schools of thought on how we should use the bible.  There’s our devotional time, our study time, and our reading time.  Study time can consist primarily of sermon preparation but also can include bible studies you lead.  So some pastors try to get by with reading a few chapters a day and preparing their sermons.

While sermon prep time can be rewarding, actually reading the bible has its own benefits.  Devotional time usually includes a few chapters and that’s it.  I enjoy my quiet times in the morning with my coffee and my journal but I wanted more, much more.  I recently purchased the Bible translation I use on MP3 discs and transferred them to my MP3 player that I use when I walk or travel in the car.  I primarily listen to music and audio books on the player but I decided to include bible time as well.  In fact, I set aside time in my mid-day to listen to an entire book if I can and take notes if I’m able.  This week, I’ve listened to First John 3 times already.  I’ve made some notes for potential sermons, but I’ve also begun to grasp some overall concepts that perhaps I’ve missed in the past.  I also have my bible on my Sony Reader eBook device so I can read several chapers if I’m found to have some time I wasn’t counting on (late appointment, waiting in line, etc..).

The point is, I’m spending more time listening to what God is telling me. The audio bible has benefits I never thought it would.  While I still read devotionally and spend time in sermon prep, I now have increased my intake of God’s Word by 30-to-50 chapters a week simply by listening to it as well.  My prayers are more fulfilling, my spiritual walk has improved, and I believe it’s helped my sermons I present each week.

I understand how hard it can be for someone who’s never read the bible to start picking it up and reading it daily but really, it’s the only way to spiritual growth.  Habits can be made and priorities changed if our desire is in the right places.  When I was working 50-60+ hours a week in radio, I still found time to read each day because it was THAT important to me.  Think about it.  How much time do we waste watching meaningless television shows and yet, we cannot find the time to read 30 chapters of scripture each week?  This would take less than a half hour each day and yet, I’m always amazed at the people I talk to who feel powerless in their Christian walk but do not read the bible daily.  They cannot see the connection between growing in Christ and reading His Word.

So how much is too much for you?  Is it worth the investment for meaningful life change?  I think so and I hope you do too.

How Much Bible Is Too Much?

2 thoughts on “How Much Bible Is Too Much?

  1. Stacy J Ross says:

    Great post. This is something I’ve been thinking about for a few weeks (maybe longer).

    One of the things on my get list is an audio Bible for my mp3 player.

  2. This post hits the nail squarely on the head!

    I was saved as a result of reading the Bible daily, in particular, the New Testament, from August to November in 1953.

    I have also listened to the Bible on audio cassettes, but I find that reading off the printed page works the best for me.

    Looking up the related cross references for each verse that strikes me during my current reading adds much, too.

    You are absolutely right that no one can grow spiritually without daily reading of God’s written word, the Bible.

    No one can get out of the Bible what God put in it for our blessing without actually going beyond reading, by engaging in study of His Word.

    I believe you haven’t begun to study God’s Word in the Bible until you have spent serious time and effort reading the cross references furnished in such a source as the Treasury of Scripture Knowledge, the New Treasury of Scripture Knowledge, or the much improved, corrected, and amplified cross references in Nelson’s Cross Reference Guide to the Bible.

    I, too, have benefited from extended re-reading and study of 1 John. Just the other day, I read aloud to the family the book of Philippians. I remember when Dr. Lehman Strauss preached a series of expository messages, going through the book of Philippians virtually verse by verse. I’ll never forget the emphasis upon “rejoice” and “joy,” yet this is one of Paul’s prison epistles!

Leave a Reply

