Time Management Systems

As a fresh New Year unfolds before us, many are already at work on their resolutions. For many, managing time better is a goal. This can take several avenues. Be it freeing up time to exercise, managing the kids’ schedules better, or simply programming more time into our schedules to recoup and re-energize. Whatever the goal is, learning how to be a better time manager usually fits in the process of achieving it.

If you’re like me, you seek out advice from professionals. For years I’ve read just about every major time management book that’s been written. David Allen, Trapper Woods, Stephen Covey, and Myron Rush all line my bookshelves. Of more recent reading, eBooks by Leo Babauta, Nick Cernis, and Francesco Cirillo all give great advice for getting more done in the time you have. I’ve enjoyed reading them all. My latest read is considered the granddaddy of the others. I’m currently taking in Alan Lakein’s classic book “How to Get Control of Your Time and Your Life” which was written in the 1970’s. Much like my spiritual reading, I’m inclined to find classics to go along with the current books to balance my intake of information.

I’m actually in the process of writing an eBook that will address time management for pastors and spiritual leaders. I’m not putting a hard end time on it but hope to have it ready for download (it will be free!) by the end of the year. I’m making no promises though!

This week, I wanted to spend some time discussing this most important issue. I’m of the firm belief that the reason many people do not achieve their dreams is because they do not plan effectively for them. Time management is key to any long or short term goal we want to achieve. This idea goes hand in hand with my personal growth series I posted late last year. I’ll not focus on the specifics of that area so much as I will time management in general. I’ve discovered one truth in my quest to manage my time to the best of my ability and it is this: There is NO silver bullet that works for everyone every time. Even the greatest of systems, be it Covey’s “Roles” or Allen’s “GTD”, will not work for every person. The key is learning to grasp some fundamentals and make them work for you, in your environment. It doesn’t matter your life situation. If you want to change, you have the power to do it if you make the commitment and stick with it each and every day.

That will be the subject of my next post…

Time Management Systems

2 thoughts on “Time Management Systems

  1. Interesting post in that it gets back to the fundamentals of time management.

    I wrote an ebook on the topic called “The New Time Management: Toss Away the Tips and Focus on the Fundamentals” — available free at my website with registration.

Leave a Reply

