Product Review: Code Alpha Messenger Bag

Recently, I purchased myself a new messenger bag to tote my stuff around with me when I’m out.  I’m not much for keeping a church “office” as you don’t meet new people that way. My old bag, that I discussed on this blog, is still in use to carry a few basic items here and there and pretty much stays in my car now. But a few years of active use has caused it to fade a bit and get worn down so I needed a new primary bag.  But which one? I looked at picking up a nice leather bag but the styles just didn’t suit my needs. I wanted something practical, durable, and yet not too “girlish” in appearance. Enter the U.S. Cavalry “Code Alpha” messenger bag. You can watch the video above and check it out for yourself. I purchased mine in black so it has a professional look while still being very durable. After using it for a few weeks, here’s my review..

On the positive side:

I love the space this bag has. The three molly pouches on the front are nice to hold my cables for my Sony Reader, MP3 player, and my Alphasmart NEO USB cable. Inside the main area, there is plenty of room for a pen, my pencils, and my audio voice recorder. I also have my Sony Reader stashed in one of the main pockets and my planner in another. There is also an area for my cellphone both inside and outside the bag. On the other side of the bag, I use the laptop case to store my Alphasmart NEO word processor and have some space to store an extra bible and my leather journal for my devotional time. The side straps on both sides of the bag are adjustable to give you the extra room needed. I use the zippered back area to store a file folder with my sermon outlines in it so I can work with them when I’m out. As the video states, the handle is comfortable in my hand and the bag isn’t too bulky. You could make it bulky by expanding it too much but for what I need on the go, it’s terrific. In all, it’s a great bag for the price/value you get for it. No matter what you choose, you always have pluses and minuses but I like the fact the bag is nice enough to take to a professional meeting, yet looks rough enough for a “guy” type bag. It’s the perfect blend of what I needed versus what I paid for it.

Any negatives?:

The only thing I would improve with the Code Alpha Bag is to include a longer shoulder strap for people who like to carry their bags over their “opposite” shoulder. This bag’s strap doesn’t really allow for that so I find myself carrying it by the handle more than I did with my original bag which fit nicely over my opposite shoulder to carry it long distances. The strap clips to the bag so conceivably I could go to an outdoor store and likely find a suitable fit for the strap. I haven’t looked into it yet but it would be a nice addition to the bag to give the owner the choice of a shorter or longer strap. Other than that, I find it to be the perfect bag for my needs.

If you are in the market for a new messenger bag, this one is worth a look. U.S. Cavalry wasn’t even on my radar when I began shopping online for a bag and began watching reviews from other people on bags that they had purchased. I stumbled across the Code Alpha bag while searching reviews on YouTube and found the video I posted above. There wasn’t much online information about the bag itself but I liked its features and decided to give it a try. I’m glad I did. If you don’t HAVE to have a leather bag and want something in the $55-$70 dollar price range, the Code Alpha Messenger bag from U.S. Cavalry could be just what you are looking for.

Product Review: Code Alpha Messenger Bag

One thought on “Product Review: Code Alpha Messenger Bag

  1. greg says:

    Scott,
    I’m strongly considering this bag. Glad to get your thoughts. I just started following your blog and found we have some things in common…I truly love the Cardinals, and the Word.

Leave a Reply

