Book Review – Scripture by Heart

The latest book by Korean pastor Joshua Choonmin Kang is an outstanding work on the discipline of memorizing scripture. Scripture by Heart is Kang’s followup to his first English book, Deep Rooted in Christ. In Scripture by Heart, Kang gives you 30 short writings on scripture memorization and it’s benefits. Throughout these writings he shares stories of his own ministry, the power of having scripture at ready reference in your mind, and how this practice will transform your life.

For years I’ve worked at scripture memorization. I’ve seen it at work in my own life and have wondered why someone hadn’t tackled this subject in the modern context. I have books dating back over 100 years that spoke of this discipline, many that are now out of print, and realized that a new generation of Christians would be left in the cold without learning this valuable skill. I’ve thought about writing my own eBook if for no other reason than to give my future generations of family a glimpse into this powerful practice.

I’m happy to say that Kang covers all the bases here. Intertwined within the 30 writings are additional essays on actually executing the skill. He gives tips on how to get started, what verses are best to learn, and how eventually you might be able to memorize an entire book. The bible has many passages on this practice. Here are just a few…

I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.
(Psalms 119:11 ESV)

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.
(Psalms 119:105 ESV)
These passages proclaim the power of the word to guard our decisions and make good choices in life. They give us hope that we can make a difference in this world if we keep God’s words close to our hearts. The best way to do this is to memorize it. In my own ministry, I can recall many times when having a verse at hand ministered most effectively to a given situation. If I had not had the word “in my heart”, I doubt much impact could have taken place.
I can’t say enough good things about this book. If you are a Christian and really want to grow in your walk with Christ, scripture memorization is vital. This book will give you all the tools you need. Get it, read it, and read it again!
Book Review – Scripture by Heart

Leave a Reply

