Goal Setting With Napoleon Hill

I’ve been reading through the original version of Napoleon Hill’s classic work “Think and Grow Rich”. For years, I’ve wanted to read the book but never found the time. I found a free ePub version of the book for my Sony Reader and that was the push I needed to start reading this 74 year old classic.

In reading the opening chapters, I came across Andrew Carnegie’s plan for achieving wealth. As Thomas Edison rightly assessed, this plan is good for achieving goals in any aspect of our lives so I’ve modified the wording for it to reflect as such and share it with you here. This is the plan shared in the book and with the New Year still very much new, NOW is a good time to set a few goals and celebrate as you achieve them. The plan is in six steps:

1) Define Your Goal – Know what it is you want to achieve. Be specific! Don’t say “I want to lose weight” but rather “I am going to lose 30 pounds”.

2) What Price Will You Pay? – Achievement costs. What are you willing to pay to achieve this goal. While Hill says sacrifice doesn’t play into this step, I would argue it does because to achieve any goal, you have to learn to say NO to some things and in paying a price, you sacrifice something for something BETTER! (Your Goal!)

3) Define a Specific Date For Achievement – Be realistic. If you want to save $1,000 start with $100. If you want to lose 50 pounds, start with 5! Put smaller, manageable goals within reach and set specific dates for accomplishing them.

4) Create An Execution Plan For Achievement – This is crucial. So many people start with a goal, set reasonable expectations, but NEVER start down the road of achievement. The journey of many miles begins with a first step and you HAVE to start NOW. Don’t wait until you think you are ready. Set a goal, be specific, and GO FOR IT!

5) Condense Your Goal Into a Statement – Look over steps 1-4 again and condense the goal into something you can see each day. “I am going to lose 10 pounds in five weeks so I can feel better and live longer!” sounds a whole lot better than “I will lose some weight in the new year”.

6) Affirm The Goal – Hill’s book says to affirm the statement from step 5 at night before bed and the first this in the morning when you wake. That’s a good plan. I write down my affirmations in my planner each day and review them frequently. It’s easy to get off track but clear, focused statements keep you in line!

That’s it. Six easy steps to get you on your way. Now, take a moment and write down a few goals you want to achieve in 2011. Follow these steps and achieve the unthinkable!

Goal Setting With Napoleon Hill

2 thoughts on “Goal Setting With Napoleon Hill

  1. Subi says:

    I did the exact same thing – gleaned the process from the book and created a template for everything I wanted to achieve or aquire this year. The book on a whole may be incompatible with the Christian worldview, but there are processes and truths that we can clean off and use. All truth is God’s truth, right?

Leave a Reply

