Are We “Becoming” More?

“If you want more, you have to become more.” ~Jim Rohn

The words of the late Jim Rohn struck me as I was driving to an appointment listening to a podcast on developing my communication skills. The interviewee quoted this line in his argument for bettering ourselves as people and professionals.

As a Pastor, I understand that spiritual work sometimes does not correlate with that of the secular business world but there are always parallels we can look for if we look close enough. I know I have readers from a variety of backgrounds so this applies to anybody but for the purposes of this article, I focus more on the spiritual side of my work.

What do you want from your life? Your ministry? Your calling? If you are a Christian, do your values line up with God’s? If they don’t, they should! When I consider Rohn’s words in light of my calling in ministry I ask myself what things am I trying to accomplish for God’s glory? Is my work in this area focused like it should be. It’s a fact of life that we all lose focus from time to time no matter the goal so it’s a good idea to ask yourself if the things you are doing now are drawing you closer or farther from that which you want to accomplish or become. As I grow deeper in my relationship with Jesus, I want to be counted on to take more responsibility and do more for the kingdom I’m now a part of. Rohn’s words have a parallel in the scriptures. They come from Joshua 1:8

This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it. For then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have good success.

Jesus later focused on this same idea when he said in Matthew 7;24 “”Everyone then who hears these words of mine and does them will be like a wise man who built his house on the rock.”

Consider your life in light of these passages. Are you taking the steps to better yourself so you can accomplish more? For my Christian friends I ask are you reading your bibles and praying it back to God so it becomes a part of you and are you acting on what you read? Are you meeting with a mentor to ask the tough questions and better you? Are you reading to grow?

To paraphrase Rohn, “If I want more from my Christian life, I have to grow closer to the source and become more like Him!”

Are We “Becoming” More?

Leave a Reply

