Moving Forward

“Everything you want is out there waiting for you to ask. Everything you want also wants you. But you have to take action to get it.” ~Jules Renard (1864-1910)

In my journeys I come across people with amazing stories. People who have overcome adversity, people who created things, people who have had incredible barriers to overcome and yet kept a smile on their face and persevered.

I’ve also come across many more people who are unhappy, people who could have done amazing things if only….

Why did I stop there? Because it makes no difference what follows after the “only”. What follows that word are obstacles and barriers that life will undoubtedly throw our way. You are not the only one who’s faced them. You are certainly not going to be the last. What tends to make the difference between these two sets of people is the action we take in response to the obstacle we face. As Jules Renard so aptly states, the things we want are achievable but we have to take action to get them. What actions are you planning to take today to get you where you want to be in a month, a year, or 5 years from now? Do you even have a plan?

As a Christian, I know my motivation must be in the right place also. It’s easy to chase after things that have no real value because of human selfishness so I always filter my plans through the lens of scripture. When I do that, I receive additional blessings because Jesus tells me he WANTS me to achieve these goals:

“I can assure you that whoever believes in me will do the same things I have done. And they will do even greater things than I have done, because I am going to the Father. And if you ask for anything in my name, I will do it for you. Then the Father’s glory will be shown through the Son. If you ask me for anything in my name, I will do it. (John 14:12-14 ERV)

Every obstacle you face can either be looked at as yet another reason why you CAN’T do whatever it is you really want to do or…you can see the obstacle as a tremendous opportunity to grow yourself beyond what you thought you could and overcome and achieve the incredible. Your attitude in these times will go a long way toward determining which path you will take.

So what choice do you make? Achieve the incredible and share your story with me when you do!

Moving Forward

2 thoughts on “Moving Forward

  1. Joe Schmoe says:

    You make it sound very simple. But as a Christian, how is one to know whether to work harder to overcome an obstacle or whether God has placed it there to steer them in a better direction?

    1. Joe,
      It IS simple if you follow scripture’s leading. Note that I stated this clearly in my writing. Sometimes the obstacle does steer us in a better direction to do incredible things. The problem for many is they never even look for the better direction but allow it to stall them completely. I do not believe and have never supported the “prosperity gospel” that is so prevalent in our culture today. I do however believe that many people, including Christians, settle for far less than God wants for them simply by allowing Satan to stall them in their tracks.

Leave a Reply

