My Weight Loss Journey – Part Three

As this final segment is being written there is so much I could say about the HOW of my weight loss journey. So many have asked about what I did. After battling this for years, how did I succeed now? I’ve thought about it and boiled it down to some essentials. Again I want to state that you MUST determine your WHY before any of this works (Read Part Two if you haven’t already!). That being said, here’s the basics of what finally did it for me AFTER I had my WHY….

Drink plenty of water. I had no clue how important this truly was but it is. My diet plan required 80 ounces of water a day! It sounds like a lot but if you think about it, a bottle of water like you buy from a machine is two 8 ounce servings. That’s 1/5 of what I was required to drink. Five bottles a day? Yep…and it was amazing how much better I felt doing it. I hardly drink soda anymore and I really don’t miss it. I just squeeze some lemon into my water with my meal.

Good carbs and fewer carbs. I was eating FAR too much white bread and flour based products. When I finally realized what I was doing, I resolved to cut back to whole grain, lower calorie products (think 45-calorie per slice bread) and it made a world of difference.

Fruits and Veggies. Yea, nobody wants to hear this but the reality is we are not getting enough. There are some great tricks to make veggies more of a regular part of your diet. Message me and I’ll share them but suffice it to say you HAVE to get more greens into your system. You will be amazed at what it will do for you and how good you’ll feel. Fresh fruit should also be consumed but not in excessive quantities. My plan stressed more veggies because of our  tendency to shy away from them. I was forced to account for my veggie intake each day.

Clean Proteins! Lots of chicken, lean turkey, fish, and greek yogurt. These are all good. Beef? Yes, you can have beef but limit yourself to good portions and not so much of them. This was a biggie for me. I didn’t realize the metabolic impact of beef in my diet. Beef IS good for you and good to lose weight but you have to eat it in the right amounts and space it out. Fatty fish like Salmon also need to be spaced out like beef. For me though, most of my diet was chicken and turkey. The switch was tough at first but now, I am a convert.

Exercise. You didn’t expect to get away without this right? It is crucial you exercise to aid in your weight loss. Diet IS of vital importance but you MUST move your body also. At first, I was fairly sedentary but am now now walking and jogging 4-6 miles at a time. You just have to start small and work your way up to it. I started with a quarter mile walk at first. That’s how little it took to start. The point is GET MOVING. Do something you like to increase physical activity.

Those are the big things. I can share more privately if you are interested but the reality is there is no magic bullet. A focused goal, with measurable action, brings results. You can do it if your WHY is big enough. The payoff? My wife is now a happy woman. As of this post I’m now down over 115 pounds! I don’t have trouble breathing anymore when I go to bed and my wife’s complaint now? “Don’t get tooooo skinny!” I never thought I’d ever hear those words in my entire life!

 

My Weight Loss Journey – Part Three

2 thoughts on “My Weight Loss Journey – Part Three

  1. Congratulations, I hope you are proud of your accomplishment, you should be. These are good tips and hopefully motivate people looking for a way to change their own lives. Commercials for fitness equipment try to sell people on a “magic bullet”. “Just do this 5 minutes a day….”. The reality is that being fit takes discipline, diet and exercise. It’s not always easy but as you have shown it is possible.

Leave a Reply

