One Simple Choice

ID-100194903For I long to see you, that I may impart to you some spiritual gift to strengthen you—that is, that we may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith, both yours and mine.
(Rom 1:11-12)

How often do you meet with others for the purpose of making a positive deposit in their lives? I believe it was in an interview with Success magazine that Pastor and Author John Maxwell made the comment that he now enters every gathering he is at with the idea that his purpose is to give something of value to the other person. It could be words of encouragement. In Maxwell’s case, maybe it’s one of his books. In any case, how often do we engage in conversation with others with this as our goal?

I’m bi-vocational in my ministry and do not take a regular salary from my church. It keeps me quite busy to say the least. What tempers me is my daily interaction with God. Every time I meet with Him in prayer and reading the Bible, He makes a deposit in my life with something I’ve read or an epiphany that comes in prayer. I keep a journal handy to write these things down to remind myself that I am called to do the same with others. I meet regularly with other pastors in my area and a few have become very close friends. At times I share burdens that I’m going through but more often these days I seek wisdom and mutual empowerment. If, like the Apostle Paul writes, we can be mutually encouraged by our meeting then I feel as though my time and more importantly, the other person’s time, is of great profit. When I go to work, I have to be careful not be caught up in gossip or to create it myself. I try to speak some type of victory into each person I work with. I find something positive every day to build up and in turn, NOT tear down.

The result of this simple mindset is my relationships are better. I’m not perfect by no means but I feel strengthened by mutual building up. I feel accomplished if I’ve given someone a word to validate their efforts. I can be challenged and stretched to grow farther by another peer than I can by trying to do it alone. But it has to start with the first effort. Are you willing to invest in another’s life? Can you do it today? Then tomorrow, invest in another until it becomes a habit. This takes time but like all good things, the effort is worth it. In a few months, you’ll have the momentum you need and the blessings you give others will bless in ways you never could imagine.

Start today. You can do it. NOW…

One Simple Choice

Leave a Reply

